What constitutes "boring" minimal?

- ask away
damagedgoods
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

What constitutes "boring" minimal?

Post by damagedgoods »

I'm curious - for those of you who have posted before along the lines of "modern minimal all sounds the same" etc, can you give some examples of which artists you think exemplify the generic, unremarkable side of 'mnml'? And, just as importantly (if not more so), who are some of your favourite artists who you believe are making music with a difference?

Not trying to start a war at all - I'm just relatively new to techno and trying to work out exactly what it is that people are referring to when they talk about the plethora of "boring" minimal artists out there. I'm pretty sure I have a good idea of who they mean but it never hurts to be sure....

dg
MINIMALTECHNOHOUSE
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by MINIMALTECHNOHOUSE »

Gaiser = Boring

Martin Buttrich = God

Marc Houle = shite

Thomas melchior = inspiring

This is my opinion btw, and what do i know?
michielwijnen
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by michielwijnen »

yeah I think you're gonna get a lot of different answers here...

Just depends on what kind off stuff you're into...
tettezak
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by tettezak »

There's no general rule to apply here so you'll get all kinds of different answers.
And just to use the example of "minimaltechnohouse", my opinion is roughly the opposite.. ;)
Last edited by tettezak on Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
damagedgoods
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by damagedgoods »

I know there's no rule - I just want to know what your opinion is :-)
damagedgoods
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by damagedgoods »

ah - sorry - i just reread your post!
AVX23
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by AVX23 »

There's no rule - it's all opinion.

My opinion is that a lot of the 'boring minimal' might be the sort of stuff that actually probably has more cred as minimal music :

Studio 1, Mike Inc, Brinkmann, Basic Channel, Mosaic Records, DBX etc.