New to the forum and new to producing

- ask away
Castel
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

New to the forum and new to producing

Post by Castel »

Greetings All

I am very new to the producing scene and want to get started. Im coming from a indie/rock band so music is not new to me.

I do however would like to learn more about producing music. Mostly experimental and look at it as a hobby.

As of now I only own an Alesis ion synth and Reason 3.0 software. Is this a good start?. Could you possibly direct me to a producing for dumbees site where I can learn the basics of the trade///

Tips noteable upgrades?

Thanks and I hope to learn alot from this site !

Salud !
msfilter
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by msfilter »

Drake44444
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by Drake44444 »

Get the Dance Music Manual,

talks a lot about creating sounds, midi, recording, mixing down, etc.

It really helped me a lot, from know nothing, to not being a complete idiot.

Get Synth1, and Crystal, free synths and try them out.

When you want something new, demo out a bunch of products and see what you like best.

Also I prefer Ableton because its DJ software, and full production software all in one, and it comes with a full set of working vsts to get you started right away. But a lot of people prefer whatever they use, so you have to use whatever works best for you.
Castel
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Post by Castel »

Thanks for the prompt response guy's!, and thanks for the links!
steevio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: New to the forum and new to producing

Post by steevio »

Castel wrote: As of now I only own an Alesis ion synth and Reason 3.0 software. Is this a good start?.
yes thats a good start, nothing wrong with Reason, several top producers use it, and its a good way to learn about synthesis.
i'd advise you to read manuals !!!