Cheap HW synth better than Soft Synths?

- ask away
N - Jay
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Cheap HW synth better than Soft Synths?

Post by N - Jay »

Guys,

Entry level synthesizers like the Juno-G and MicroKorg are nice synths to begin with, as I'm a beginner.

But are they worth investing when you've already got VSTs like FM8, Massive and Zebra for example(considering these are "the better VSTs")?
Or Komplete for 500 euros.

We all want a Jupiter 8, SH 101 or Clavia Nord. But me cannot afford that (yet).

So where is the line when buying a hardware synth pays off compared to the top VSTs?
New Guy
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by New Guy »

Hands on feel and fluidity of programing are the most important advantages of a hardware synth (for me!!).

In terms of sound soft synths are pretty amazing now, so Its not really worth obsessing over the sound difference between hardware and software.

Microkorg is good, a lot of established electronic musicians use it, maybe not the mnml dudes but the electro guys a la Siriusmo for example do use it.
tone-def
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: Cheap HW synth better than Soft Synths?

Post by tone-def »

not all hardware synths are better than software and not all software are better than hardware.

it depends on the features of the synths and what sounds you are trying to make.
Casanova808
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by Casanova808 »

It isn't that easy.

What you really have to ask is if a piece of gear can do something that software cannot.

If you look at it that way, I don't think synths like the Korg R3 or the Roland Gaia offer anything that you cannot do in the computer. That is why I think old digital synths that are not "technically" as good as newer stuff are still worth considering.