Monitor: what should be the next step?

combination thread.
blizt
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Monitor: what should be the next step?

Post by blizt »

So it's already three or four years since I started with the KRK 5. I'm no expert in sound and I like them but I feel it's time to get an upgrade. So looking at spending a maximum of 1000 euros on a pair, what brand/models should be an improvement? Should I save more and go for a better audio system? Thanks.
Shepherd_of_Anu
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: Monitor: what should be the next step?

Post by Shepherd_of_Anu »

Well naturally if you could save up more and get some higher end monitors that would be ideal but in the sub $1000 there are still some good options I am sure. I have the Makie MR8 mk2 and generally I think they sound pretty good. They use many of the same components as the HR series. I think you could get a pair for $570 - $700 depending on where you live. The best plan is maybe to just go demo lots of monitors. Other then these monitors I can't think of too much off-hand in the sub $1000 range that that really stands out.
Hades
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by Hades »

I worked with a pair of mackie HR624's for years, and I was always happy with them.
Last year I got a pair of Focal twin 6BE's.
I highly recommend those, but even the solo 6BE's are twice as expensive as your budget,
and I don't know enough about their cheaper monitors to recommend them.

Steevio is mad about his mackie HR824's, so maybe you could look into a pair of those ?

Another thing I highly recommend are the recoil stabilizers from Primacoustic.
They seem expensive for what they are, but they do exactly what they claim on their website :
better defined bass, bigger sweetspot,...
they make 500$ monitors sound like 800$ monitors, and 800$ monitors sound like 1500$
They are very much worth their money !
(but they weigh a lot, so make sure your stands can support them)