Producing

- ask away
gillsans
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Producing

Post by gillsans »

Im not a producer just a dj and I wanted to know what made you want to start producing?

I was thinking this morning how I get so wrapped up in mixing that I sometimes forget why I got into it in the first place, which was to make friends dance. I dont play out as often as I like so I end up playing and recording at home lots. So...

Do you make music so you can dance? think? be creative? expand your mind?

Do you mostly produce 4/4? and why 4/4?

Im curious? Thanks in advance...
Keepin' the beats deep in the groove bunker
Marcus Stork
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by Marcus Stork »

Its very different for me.
Sometimes i dont have a idea what i would like to do when i start of with a track. I just experiment with beats and sounds untill i get a good sounding ground groove. From there i get ideas what im going to do with it.
And sometimes i get a idea "plopping" up in my head and i work out a track from that idea.

Sometimes im realy creative and i can make many tracks in a short period of time.
And sometimes i just have no creativity at all, like for the last months.
I havent done more than a loop or two since october-november.

I think i mostly make music for myself, being creative and making a sound that makes me feel good.
I also noticed that alot of things around me gets me inspired of doing music. Like the weather for example.
Normaly the fall and early winter is the time i have my creativity is working realy good.
Summer is too light, happy and lovley for me to make my music! :D
Jesse Somfay
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by Jesse Somfay »

I started writing music before playing it out.

It's a great emotional release. I couldn't live without it. It's that simple for me.
gillsans
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by gillsans »

Jesse Somfay wrote:I started writing music before playing it out.

It's a great emotional release. I couldn't live without it. It's that simple for me.
Hey Jesse,