help and advice on a true analog synth

- ask away
underground utd
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

help and advice on a true analog synth

Post by underground utd »

hi everyone,
I'm looking for some advice to help me buy my 1st true analog synth but first let me tell you what I know about making sounds and music. I've been djing for 15 years (not as a pro but as a strong hobby). I play techno, electro/house and trance, all with a dark-ish, acid, pumping edge. above all I'm a vinyl lover. As for the hardware I got a Korg esx1-sd wich I'm realy happy with, making a groove in 10min is kind of satisfying. Now, here's what I know about sound synthesis : not a lot, so when I decided to buy a simple synth, I bought a Korg monotron. This was to help me understand the basics of making sounds from scratch, and it did very well. So, I'm looking to go one up again and get a true analog synth with more features, so far here's a list of what caught my attention : DSI mopho keyboard (even though it seems more complicated to edit due to it's menu-sub-menu-asign-re-asign, way to program). Doepfler dark energy (no presets, just knobs to tweek). MFB microzwerg or megazwerg or kraftzwerg (again, just knobs). My price range is 400-600€ (500-700$). One last thing, there's another keyboard waving it's flag saying "look at me I'm easy to program" and that's the Roland gaia (wich I know is a v/a).
Fire away !!
Thanx
hydrogen
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by hydrogen »

f tha gaia.. get a classic juno106. should be able to get one for $450 - $600.

if your looking for monosynth save up and get one with the most knobs. :)
------------------------------------------------------
http://soundcloud.com/kirkwoodwest
TechnoMusic
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by TechnoMusic »

Personally Id go for a Waldorf pulse as a first true analog (assuming you can get one off ebay), it is an amazing bass mono synth and has a lot of options for other styles of sound. The filters sound great and it is easy to program.