loop etiquitte

- ask away
konzee
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

loop etiquitte

Post by konzee »

I am rather new at production (hitting a year some time after christmas)

Since day 1 I've been agianst loops and all that jazz. but the more and more I listen to various artists percussion (bongos, certain fills) it seems as though they use loops and theres no real way to achieve that sound with out them.

basically what I'm asking, in this type of music (I'm specifically a house guy) are the use of loops common?

getting a basic bongo loop, side chaining the hell out of it and compressing it to your own sound = acceptable?
Ingemar
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by Ingemar »

set your own rules man, and then don't care about them.

Think of it this way, every loop has its creator. Try emulating instead of just copy/paste+whatever effects that makes you sleep at night
AK
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: loop etiquitte

Post by AK »

konzee wrote:
Since day 1 I've been agianst loops and all that jazz. but the more and more I listen to various artists percussion (bongos, certain fills) it seems as though they use loops and theres no real way to achieve that sound with out them.
Why isn't there any way to achieve 'that sound' without them? Certain things are not going to be as authentic programmed, ie: a conga/bongo loop or an acoustic drum fill - basically anything that isn't electronic.

But aside from that, any loops that are produced with electronic drum sounds and efx are perfectly recreatable, and it would be an advantage to practise at getting good at that. You can still go a long way to making programmed drums more realistic too. It does take work though.