Live & Logic

- ask away
andy663
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Live & Logic

Post by andy663 »

I already own Ableton Live 8 and am looking at purchasing a synthesiser, I have downloaded a few demo's etc but would like some advice as to what people think I should do. As a student I can get hold of the following Synths for these prices:

£70 Fabfilter Twin 2
£155 Zebra2
£160 Massive
£160 FM8
£160 Absynth

However I recently found that I can buy Logic 9 for £120, which obviously comes with a drum synthesiser, a few normal synthesisers, and a sample based synthesiser, Aswel as many effects etc. This would mean learning a new DAW but I don't think that this would be too much of a problem.

I have also heard that logic "sounds" better but am not sure how much truth there is in this.

What are your guys opinions on what I should do?

Cheers,

Andy
damagedgoods
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Re: Live & Logic

Post by damagedgoods »

andy663 wrote:I have also heard that logic "sounds" better but am not sure how much truth there is in this.

*bangs head against wall*
o b j e k t

www.keinobjekt.de
oblioblioblio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by oblioblioblio »

damagedgoods wrote:
andy663 wrote:I have also heard that logic "sounds" better but am not sure how much truth there is in this.

I have been curious about this recently. I haven't found any objective truth about it.

Are all decent daw's created near enough equal?
Daemonix
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by Daemonix »

If I were you: FM8 or Logic! If you like how you work with Live go for the FM8
oblioblioblio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by oblioblioblio »

about original post. it's too hard to predict what is best for you. I struggle even to work out what's best for me.

There's something to be said for limiting yourself to only a restricted set of tools. e.g. opnly using logic native effects (which I'm guessing are of decent quality).

I think Zebra and Fabfilter Twin are really interesting and useable software synths.