21%

Total votes: 86

BlackPoison
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

who of you still play with vinyl

Post by BlackPoison »

Hi to everybody!

Please, I don't want to start another vinyl vs digital thread . So don't use this one to start the 100th discussion about this.

I am just interested in knowin who of you nowadays play only with vinyl or use vinyl and only some cds...
miroslav
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by miroslav »

I'm still playing only vinyl. But I'm an amateur who does it just for my own fun and for some online forum podcasts, not a big name/professional DJ/producer who travels around to a lot of gigs. So I have the luxury of not being so technologically current.

But I have been slowly thinking about partially getting into a traktor scratch setup, simply because it's becoming difficult and cumbersome for me to store tons of records when I'm in a job that requires me to rotate to different parts of the country right now. I've just been lazy about it...it's a bigger up-front investment, but not really bigger than all the money I spend on vinyl over time.

Even if I really embraced all of the new technology and used it most of the time, I don't think I would ever completely foresake vinyl and the art of really mixing by hand.
JackNine
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by JackNine »

I'm 100% digital now. Have been for about three years. I still pick up records (occasionally) that aren't available digitally, but I quickly digitize them (a la Steve Bug), check the sound, and when I'm happy I trade the vinyl away to a friend or sell it. I bought a huge external hard drive that I back up all my files to about once every month. This way I'm never at risk of losing too much data.