staying in touch with the club scene as a producer

- ask away
xxmmxx
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

staying in touch with the club scene as a producer

Post by xxmmxx »

I am 30 years old now and i've been making music for about 7 years, I have found that as I have become a better producer over the years the less I have felt like mingling with the 'punters'
As I have gotten older, the excitement of clubbing has diminished and these days i find it very hard to cough up big bucks to see some big shot superstar DJ when they come to play in my area. To the average 18 year old crowd, they don't mind lining up outside the club for half an hour in the rain, then pay a cover charge to get in the club, then pay money for the cloak room, then pay heaps of money for drinks, but I'm kind of getting over the scene. It's kind of an interesting feeling since I am so passionate about the music, and at the end of the day this is my 'target audience' and yet I have nothing in common with them, i'm older, wiser and don't get excited about the concept. The weird thing is how can i possibly make club music without actually being part of the scene? what will i do when I'm 40? etc.
clubfoot
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by clubfoot »

that's normal mate. you still know how to party. you've just reached an age where you're not searching for thrills and you're not about to be milked by the next over-hyped party/club. like for instance, I would love to be at The End for Hawtin this Saturday but I ain't gonna subject myself to the bullshit of queueing outside and then being squashed inside just to hear him play a load of predictable stuff and cut the bass for 20 seconds while I can't get to the bar.

As a producer i reckon it's better to stand back from it all anyway - you can see more clearly.
S
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by S »

making the music is a big part of the scene no :roll: you will boogie again old one!
luke78
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by luke78 »