making sure you're in tune...

- ask away
andanywhere
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

making sure you're in tune...

Post by andanywhere »

so, im a total newb and with that newbness... i don't really know much about intervals/scales/keys, etc.

i do know the basics as ive taken piano lessons...however...

i'm perplexed as how you make sure something is in tune

here's an example:

i have a lead playing D notes with 3 osc's. OSC 1 has 0 detune. OSC 2 has +3 st detuned. OSC 3 has +7 st detuned.

next, my bassline is just a simple sine sub-osc and a square wave playing D notes at an octave lower than the lead.

is this in tune? it sounds good to me, however ive noticed when i start to play around with oscillator detunements on the lead ill send the track to a friend and he'll say something sounds like it's off. i've also had trouble tuning toms/congas and other elements that have pitch qualities to them along with this basic structure.

is there any resources that could help me just nail this down as i see it as a pretty basic and mechanical skill needed to make a good track. perhaps i just need to spend time with it over and over until finally it becomes second nature to where i can tell 2 pitches apart and be able to ballpark what key they are..
Stomper
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by Stomper »

Truth is, it can change between synths. it can sound tuned on one synth but same setting on another one will sound off.

if it sound good to you than thats the end of it IMO. check with fresh ears to make sure.
are you sure its the diffrences in the lead and bass that sounds off to your friend? maybe its something else.
4am
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by 4am »

imho it always depends on the context. in an appropriate context you can justify every interval. it depends on the rules you have decided to apply. for example dodecaphony has strict and well defined rules that can really sound frightening.
at the end you should trust your (fresh) ears and your instinct!
s.k.
mnml maxi
mnml maxi