full time job leaves no time for producing

- ask away
xxmmxx
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

full time job leaves no time for producing

Post by xxmmxx »

Hi everyone this is my first post here. I've been making music for about 5 years now, have had a little bit of success with some label interest in various genres over the years (trance/electro), a few competition entry success that sorta thing, but I'm still not doing this full time.

During the week I go to work (I work in IT support/help desk) monday to friday, 8:30-5:30 so it's past 6pm when I get home, and of course after sitting in front of a computer all day I can't sit down immediately and start producing masterpieces, need to unwind, get inspired etc. By the time that happens it's around 9:30pm and then by the time I play around with something it's 10:30. I'm even single at the moment so having a girlfriend/family would take away even more of my time.

The thing that concerns me is that time is slipping away, I don't have time to follow my passion, and next thing I know i'll be 50 years old without a single 'album' finished because of work and family. That scares me. I want to be a success, according to my dreams I should be touring the world by now getting paid to DJ other people's songs as well as my own productions.

So anyways, how do people Gui Boratto find the time? I mean he's sort of famous, but nowhere near mainstream, actually I wouldn't even call him famous. He's known in the scene. Do people of his callibre go back to their shitty jobs during the week. How about all the countless electronic artists on beatport signed to labels with high quality banners, etc they work full time or what.
S
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by S »

you could try and get a few gigs djing maybe on fri/sat and give you a chance to play some of your music
aallvor
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by aallvor »

Work's a problem?

Try part time job, part time studies, full time looking after my daughter+finding time for my girlfriend...
SHAP