a liveset structure

- ask away
mood
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

a liveset structure

Post by mood »

hi ppl.. :)
i'm new in the live set world (and in the ableton live's too)... in the last times i've heard lots of great live pa's: nice sound, nice arrangements, nice vartiations etc rarely boring and very exciting... but i was wondering about your "standard" (if it exist) way of organizing a live set. how do you create/start it? you just slice your release tracks in to sections (drums, bass, etc..) and then you play with them (with efx, looping)? or for example you've got in ableton a track only for the kick drums, an other track for the hats, etc.. and you just combine the clips and add efx?? another thing: do you prepare a specific live set? i mean, do you try it at home with a precise playlist, arrangement, etc.. or is it only improvisation??
ok, these questions could be very stupid.. but i'm really courious about it... :wink:
sorgenkind
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by sorgenkind »

Well, the system may vary from user to user, but here’s how I do it.
Not meant to be a standard, just my way do do it.

I have always –more or less- the same structure in the tracks I build, the tracks are always at the same place, bassline is channel one, synths two and so forth.
As soon as I am done with the track I get rid of all the effects I need for the mixdown, so I record new tracks and I can get rid of EQ, Compressor and such, so that I end up having a „nude“ set, just audio clip. I don’t use any MIDI tracks in my live act so far.
When I’m done with the boring re-naming, I simply ctrlC and ctrlV the clips in the main set, where I have then all my tracks copied from session view, I just have then to set them in the right order.