Stuck In The Middles!

- ask away
PlasmaFlux
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Stuck In The Middles!

Post by PlasmaFlux »

Hello all! I'm new to mnml, and am thrilled to have found this site! I've toyed with music production for years, but have just begun to take it seriously in the past few months.

I'm working with Ableton Live and a used Oxygen8 MIDI controller that I just bought off ebay.

My recurring dilemma is this:

I often spend hours building and caressing tracks from scratch in the Session View in Live. There comes a point where everything falls into place and I have a "eureka!" moment. Pumping through the headphones is one hell of a groove and I'm thrilled that I was the creator of it.

The problem is that the groove I've made is inevitably perfect for the MIDDLE part of a song, where all the stops are pulled and asses on the dance floor are a-shakin' full throttle.

I have a folder full of Live Sets that would be absolutely ideal middles of songs if only I could figure out how on earth to get from beginning ---> middle ---> end.

In other words, I have no clue how to go about building a full track from intro to outro. I've been listening to my 150gb mp3 collection with an analytical ear towards layering & construction...but to no avail.

(On rare occassion, I build a fantastic beginning of a song in the arrangement view, but then don't know how to create a middle or end.....but that's another topic for a later time....)

This is a rather vague and abstract problem, but I'm hoping this is the place to find people who understand what I'm talking about.

Any advice / tips & tricks to get me out of this rut will be greatly appreciated. I'm willing to offer either my first born child or a pound of my flesh in exchange for any valuable information.

Thanks in advance!

~PlasmaFlux

[/i]
New Guy
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by New Guy »

this has been answered already. and i think with the search function you could have found the right topic.