Ableton Live 5.2 - Reason 3.0 QUESTION

- ask away
SABO
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Ableton Live 5.2 - Reason 3.0 QUESTION

Post by SABO »

hello.

I'm a complete newb to producing, and I was wondering if its possible in any way to do the following:

I currently Rewire Reason to Ableton Live through Reasons "Hardware Mixer". I then choose inputs and outputs in Live so that sound from Reason is played on Live's master through one of Live's AUDIO CHANNELS. I would like to do the same thing but instead of being regular Audio, I would like it to be MIDI.

Basically what I want to do is use Reason's Subtraktor patches in Live as my synthetizer chanel, but instead of recording audio, I want to record MIDI.

I know about the Operator Instrument in Live but my problem is that I don't have any patches/pre sets for it, and therefore I only get this single tone; the subtraktor would give me a lot more sounds to play with.

Any help would be very nice.

Thanks!!
spyromus
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Post by spyromus »

So you want to play MIDI nodes in Ableton Live and have them rendered by Reason's Substractor? I believe there's one way to do this -- to use a virtual MIDI cable, like MIDI Yoke http://www.midiox.com/myoke.htm.

I don't have Reason installed right now, and I can't give exact instructions, but it usually all looks like this:

* You install the virtual MIDI cable
* Launch Live
* Create MIDI track
* Instruct it to output MIDI to the virtual cable (see MIDI TO / Configure / Midi Ports / Output: Midi Yoke NT: X / Track -> ON) and select the channel
* Start Reason
* Configure MIDI IN on the same channel
* In Live create the audio track and take the audio from Reason

Now you should have a setup where you send MIDI events from Live to Reason through one virtual cable track and get rendered sound from Reason to Live through another.

Hope it works and helps!
SABO
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by SABO »

thanks!!!