Minimal knowledge

- ask away
Cameron
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Minimal knowledge

Post by Cameron »

Hi. I hope someone can help. I'm new to writing minimal house. I run an Apple G4 with Logic 7. Unfortunatly it's acting up so I am now limited to using my pc and Reason 2.5. Can anybody tell me how to go about writing minimal and creating minimal sounds in Reason?. As I am new to minimal I am unsure how to perfect these sounds. Kick, snare, Synths,quantize,well pretty much everything really. Thanks for your help and time. :lol:
provaznik
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by provaznik »

ok first of all, welcome to the board cameron.
secondly. there is really no set way of going about making minimal but when i first started out i listened to my favorite tracks a lot. i studied them and attempted to see why they worked. some people may disagree with me but i do enjoy finding inspiration from others music. it brings forth new ideas for me and helps me to create my own. don't be afraid to just dive right in either, do what sounds right to you, because in the process of making music it is all about how you are feeling about the track. i hope this helped you some i do have a hard time answering these questions...
Cameron
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Post by Cameron »

Thanks for your help, I appreciate you taking the time. I will try and relax, then maybe it will start to flow better. Reason is a great programme but you are limited to what you can do. When I am writing I think what I'm doing is poor because I'm not using high tech equipment like other artists. Less pressure on myself I think ( it's turning into The Oprah Winfrey Show now. Sorry about that ! ). Thanks again and like I said, I appreciate it.
Cameron. :D
thomasjaldemark
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by thomasjaldemark »