going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton noob?

all things.
Post Reply
slavink
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 3:55 pm

going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton noob?

Post by slavink » Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:03 pm

Hey y'all,

I've been a Logic Pro user since 5 years and a ProTools user before that,
I'd like to dive into Ableton now, but the workflow is pretty different, can't really get my head around it.

The way I work in Logic is pretty much audio-based, just placing bits of audio on the timeline.
All the tonal aspects of a track I do with soft synths so that's pretty much the same in the same in all DAWs i guess.
But I rarely use soft synths or samplers for drums, just audio.
I must say I don't really understand the concept of the clip launcher.

Does anyone has some tips or good tutorials to share?

Allright thanks

steevio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 3495
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 12:18 pm
Location: wales UK
Contact:

Re: going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton no

Post by steevio » Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:21 pm

dont do it :)

but if you must, the onboard tutorials are ok

User avatar
Mono-xID
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:50 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton no

Post by Mono-xID » Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:42 pm

steevio wrote:dont do it :)
why not?

Hades
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton no

Post by Hades » Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:09 pm

slavink wrote:Hey y'all,

I've been a Logic Pro user since 5 years and a ProTools user before that,
I'd like to dive into Ableton now, but the workflow is pretty different, can't really get my head around it.

The way I work in Logic is pretty much audio-based, just placing bits of audio on the timeline.
All the tonal aspects of a track I do with soft synths so that's pretty much the same in the same in all DAWs i guess.
But I rarely use soft synths or samplers for drums, just audio.
I must say I don't really understand the concept of the clip launcher.

Does anyone has some tips or good tutorials to share?

Allright thanks
the tracks you see horizontally in arrangement view are the same tracks you see vertically in session view
(obviously).
the thing is, in session view you can launch only one clip at the same time per track, but they don't have to be at the same line horizontally.
So let's say you put your bass in track 1, and your lead in track 2.
you put the verse A clip of your bass in the first clip slot, and then the verse B clip of your bass in slot 2, and the verse C clip in slot 3, and so on.
you do the same with your lead.
now you can play verse B clip of your bass track at the same time as verse C clip of your lead, just by clicking their play buttons.
you could never do that with a simple linear time arrangment like in the arrangment view, because obviously clip B would be a lot further down the line than clip A.

for obvious reasons, you usually want to play verse A of the bass with verse A of the lead, and verse B of the bass with verse B of the lead.
that's why you put them in the same horizontal row of slots, and a whole horizontal row of slots is called a "scene", you can launch all clips in one scene by clicking the play button at the far right of the horizontal row.

you can stop all scenes from all tracks by pusing the stop button at the bottom right.

hope that helps.
it's really very intuitively

Hades
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton no

Post by Hades » Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:17 pm

steevio wrote:dont do it :)
before I worked with Live, I had cubase, and I still laugh with how complicated something with cubase was compared to how simple something was in Live.
I mean, just for opening a VST, you had to drag and then scroll and then click and...
all in all maybe 6 or 7 different actions.
In Live, all you had to was doubleclick on the VST in your library, and Live would do it all automatically : open a new MIDI track, load the VST in there, and arm the track.
I'm sure many DAW's have copied a few of the intuitive things Live has into their own system by now, but back then (7 years ago) it was day and night difference for your workflow.
I can see Live being overrated a bit for the moment, and suffering from its own huge success, but I still think Live's the most intuitive DAW there is.

eggnchips
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:22 pm

Re: going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton no

Post by eggnchips » Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:03 am

Live has good workflow and is easy to use although its efx especially the reverb are not too good. I have heard that Logic's built in efx are great.
You may have to invest in a good VST reverb and Eq.
If you are using audio samples, make sure that you check out what type of audio is selected in the box at the bottom of the screen - beats for beats, complex for other stuff et etc.
I also wish Live had a better view of the timeline for piecing audio together. It's a bit small.

User avatar
tone-def
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 3822
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 12:05 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton no

Post by tone-def » Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:21 pm

You left pro tools for logic when you mostly work with audio? Are you mad? Pro tools audio editing is head and shoulders above logic. The only reason anyone would leave pro tools for logic is for soft synths.

As for ableton, I'd wait for bitwig which is coming very soon.

steevio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 3495
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 12:18 pm
Location: wales UK
Contact:

Re: going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton no

Post by steevio » Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:22 pm

Mono-xID wrote:
steevio wrote:dont do it :)
why not?
i really dislike Ableton on many levels.

i find it weird that a one time protools user would end up on ableton some day.

Post Reply