Ableton - trying to roll off master at 30hz...

all things.
kivetros
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Ableton - trying to roll off master at 30hz...

Post by kivetros »

I'm still pretty new to Ableton, so forgive the noob question... but back in my FL days, if I wanted to roll off my master at a certain frequency, it was really easy to load up the built-in Parametric EQ 2 effect and set the Q slope to be super steep, which made it really easy to be super precise about what frequencies I wanted to eliminate. However, as far as I can tell, none of Ableton's built-in plugins seem to be able to have as steep of a slope as I'd like.

How do you guys roll off at 30hz / 40hz whatever? Is there a 3rd party plugin that works well for this? With FL, I never had to worry about using a 3rd party plugin for this, so I don't really know of any.

Thanks!
Hades
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Re: Ableton - trying to roll off master at 30hz...

Post by Hades »

not sure about how it would sound (at work so can't check at the moment)
but if you don't like the roll-of slopes of EQ8, (if you consider them not steep enough)
perhaps you can try this little trick.
first you load one EQ8 and put the Q high enough, so that the slope becomes steeper
then load another EQ8 right after that one to top the unwanted gain you get by turning up the Q of the first one.
that's the first thing that pops into my mind, but I'm not sure if it would still sound fine.
kivetros
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Post by kivetros »

Hades wrote:not sure about how it would sound (at work so can't check at the moment)
but if you don't like the roll-of slopes of EQ8, (if you consider them not steep enough)
perhaps you can try this little trick.
first you load one EQ8 and put the Q high enough, so that the slope becomes steeper
then load another EQ8 right after that one to top the unwanted gain you get by turning up the Q of the first one.
that's the first thing that pops into my mind, but I'm not sure if it would still sound fine.