high frequency noise from my monitors?

- ask away
User avatar
kujoma
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Berlin

high frequency noise from my monitors?

Post by kujoma » Tue May 23, 2006 2:17 pm

Hey

i got ALESISK M1 Active MK2 and if i have them on Volume 8/10 (normal workathmospheaer) and no sound is played at all the make some high frequency noise. What can that be? They are not older then 2 months!

Maybe my crapy old onboard Soundchip from Nvidia?
--

Image

User avatar
skept
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 565
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:06 am
Location: elsewhere

Re: high frequency noise from my monitors?

Post by skept » Tue May 23, 2006 2:57 pm

kujoma wrote:Maybe my crapy old onboard Soundchip from Nvidia?
that is where i'd be pointing my finger of blame. my on board, stock soundcard hums. i think it picks up noise from the computer because i could hear the harddrive when i recorded on it previously.

User avatar
kujoma
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Berlin

Post by kujoma » Tue May 23, 2006 3:05 pm

Ok so i don't have to worry about my monitors. :)
--

Image

User avatar
edin
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 11:26 am

Post by edin » Tue May 23, 2006 3:11 pm

sound card is the problem...

User avatar
Measax
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 497
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:58 pm

Post by Measax » Tue May 23, 2006 11:51 pm

There is a fix for that... I had that problem with an older laptop I was using just to download with, but only when it was plugged in... I got a ground converter for the power supply...If you are in the usa I know this works...You may have something similar overseas...What you have to do is get a peace that fits on the power cord over the prongs and takes away the ground...I know it has to be this sort of problem because even if you got a stand alone audio device like a fw 410 or ultralite you will have a hum due to the ground...It has something to do with an open link in the circuit. SO take away the ground and you may take away the hummm...It worked for me...This is also why most studios have special devices that power goes through (converters or condensors- I'm bad with terms)...we picked one of those up for 50 at gc used....Its worth a try...

User avatar
harass
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 658
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 5:37 pm
Location: melbourne
Contact:

Post by harass » Wed May 24, 2006 8:08 am

have a look at the ground lifting thread

User avatar
kujoma
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Berlin

Post by kujoma » Wed May 24, 2006 1:55 pm

thanks a lot
--

Image

User avatar
accdntly
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:22 pm
Contact:

Post by accdntly » Wed May 24, 2006 3:47 pm

i had the same problem with the same monitors so i adjusted the i/o settings on my external presonus inspire 1394. once i turned the audio in's all the way down it went away.

Post Reply