chord / synth help...

- ask away
cloutier
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

chord / synth help...

Post by cloutier »

since i'm a drummer by trade, i typically don't find myself having too much trouble on the percussion side of my tracks. where i do find myself being completely bogged down, and inevitably so frustrated i just walk away from my computer for the day, is the synth / chord side of things. i have not one ounce of piano training, nor have i ever been able to learn it, so i'm stuck just haphazardly pushing buttons until, hopefully, something that doesn't sound like a fucking turd comes out of my speakers.

can anyone recommend some sort of website that maybe has a convenient way to preview and visually see different chords so i can maybe flip through those and start to make mental notes on things? i think it would help speed up my process and keep me from getting so annoyed with all of my productions that i never finish a damn thing.

that being said, i also seem to find myself getting exceptionally frustrated with finding synth sounds that i'm familiar with. i can hear examples in other songs that i would like to try and emulate in my own tracks but i don't know precisely what they are so, again, i spend all day going through 3000 presets and being wholly disappointed. i've got a slew of soft-synths at my disposal, and even when i had access to my old studio with the juno60 and prophet8 i couldn't find a fucking thing i liked. think classic sounds for dubby stabs, old detroit synth sounds, and any sort of warm house organ / piano.
doctor, doctor, this city's sick
a tired, tired heart, such shakey lips

http://soundcloud.com/cloutier
oblioblioblio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: chord / synth help...

Post by oblioblioblio »

are you using a sequencer to play in chords?