Quick Drummachine question

- ask away
Post Reply
JonasEdenbrandt
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:52 pm
Contact:

Quick Drummachine question

Post by JonasEdenbrandt » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:27 pm

I recently got a yamaha rx 5 that I'm just learning how to use. While playing around with it i realized i can send MIDI from it's sequencer to a synth (a roland jv1080). To do this i start sending one of the drumsounds MIDI messeage to a new unique channel and recive on that channel on the jv1080. Problem is it only sends one note value. There are two modes called Multi Voice and Multi Step that allow me to make the pads into a keyboard for one of the drumsounds. This seems to only repitch the sample and not send a diferent MIDI note value.

Does any one know if there is a way to send diferent MIDI note values from one of the drummachines instruments to a synth? I've checked the manual but the Multi Voice Multi Step thing was the only thing I found and I haven't got that to work.

User avatar
trak660
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 520
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:54 am
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Quick Drummachine question

Post by trak660 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:49 pm

You'll probably have to assign each pad its own note number.

eggnchips
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:22 pm

Re: Quick Drummachine question

Post by eggnchips » Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:07 pm

Could page 63 job#4 be of any help to you?
http://www2.yamaha.co.jp/manual/pdf/emi ... h/RX5E.pdf
Good luck.

JonasEdenbrandt
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Drummachine question

Post by JonasEdenbrandt » Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:22 pm

Forgot to say thanks. Yes that helped me! Thanks alot.

Post Reply