starting..

- ask away
kos
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

starting..

Post by kos »

i tried to find a post about how to start making a track, how to build it (step by step) but i cant. the most o you maybe have a few released tracks. it would be nice to write here how to start to work on a track. it would be very helpful :)
mehta
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Re: starting..

Post by mehta »

If you can make a few sounds and arrange them, that is probably enough for now. If you don't have any sound source or arrangement tool, maybe just tap your feet and clap your hands a bit. I'm not kidding.

You will create your own process.
MagpieIndustries
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by MagpieIndustries »

get a modular synth and a lot of patch cables. randomly move them around. post on forums trying to sound clever.
lem
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by lem »

Kos, unfortunately there is no quick way to learning this stuff. I have been making music for 10 years and I am only just happy with myself and my music. I am still learning new things every day.. and i still have a long way to go.

That said, the best thing is to get to know your DAW and dont get too bogged down with the wealth of plugins available. Read the manual and look for tutorials on youtube to learn specific elements of a track. Searching for "how to make a tune" are probably not going to get you very far. Try things like, "making beats in (insert daw name here)"
You will at least get a starting point. Then you can play around with things outside of the tutorials. After a while you should know enough to write a basic tune.

I cant stress enough, dont get sidetracked with 3rd party plugins and sample packs. I wish someone said that to me from the start!
AK
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by AK »