Are synths necessary?

- ask away
kivetros
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Are synths necessary?

Post by kivetros »

Background: I've been making music for the last 6 years. I started out as a trance producer, and over the last few years, my musical journey has been leading me deeper and deeper into tech house and techno. However, most of my music buddies that I've met along the way are trance / progressive producers, which is why I joined here - to meet some knowledgeable techno producers.

Well, I feel like I have a very strong grasp of rhythm and groove. I can sit all day and write percussion - big, swingy, organic grooves; tight, unsyncopated, clicky minimal stuff; whatever it is, I can make it, and well. I love percussion.

So, I'll create a new project in Live, find a suitable kick, grab a bunch of samples, and get my percussion going. Then, I reach for Operator or Analog and make a really deep sub-bass... pretty standard-procedure stuff.

After that, I'm totally lost. I will open up a VST, set it to init, and... nothing. I feel like I really struggle with finding the right timbres and chords for minimal or tech house, and I hate it. It's really frustrating.

This brings me to my actual question - do I actually have to use synths in my work? Is it viable and accepted to do really percussive, stripped-back tracks with little more than a sub-bass, percussion, and maybe a vocal hit or two? I just haven't been immersed in tech / minimal for long enough to know whether or not this is acceptable... because if it is, that's really how I'd like to work.

Thanks in advance for feedback and advice. If my fundamental approach to this is somehow "wrong", please critique it by all means.

-K
Ingemar
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: Are synths necessary?

Post by Ingemar »

maaaaaaaaaaaaan there's no rules in this game, do what you are good at. Sample crazy ambiences, start collabing with a singer, distort the crap out of your productions, learn to play the flute, everything goes.