Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

- ask away
AK
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 1973
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:01 pm
Location: Worcestershire

Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

Post by AK » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:40 pm

I have an ongoing issue which I have been ignoring as I can't work it out but would like to try and solve it now.

Here's what happens in a nutshell:

When I have a soft synth playing, when I move parameters ( like filter cut for example - but could be anything that involves on screem movement ) activity stops. The sound is playing along fine but it just seems that graphically, things freeze until I stop moving whatever it is I'm moving. The master channel visual peaking activity will just stop like I took a photo until I stop moving stuff on the plugin.

This is strange because it does not do this with Lives internal instruments. Sometimes, the plugin will actually dissapear while I'm tweaking and I will have to click the little icon to bring up the interface again. What could be freezing the graphics whenever I move a parameter?

It's as though whenever audio is playing, the graphics suffer. If I open task manager while Live is playing and just generally drag the window around, it jerks about a bit and clearly has tails of itself following it as I drag it. Once I stop audio or quit live and do the same thing, it's perfectly smooth.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I initially thought graphics card but device manager says that it's working fine, it's an NVIDIA GForce 9500 GT and I think I have the latest drivers. Apart from this, I can't even begin to think what else could be the cause. I can supply more spec info if needed but I don't know if it's relevant but I thought I'd mention these 2 things too.

1. When running Live, I get a windows pop up message saying, 'the colour scheme has been changed to windows 7 basic'. It blames Live for this and says it will resume back to normal after the application is closed.

2. When running Live with a simple 1 bar audio file on a track, lives cpu says 1%, however, if I open task manager, it will say about 17. How relevant this is to the above stuff is anybodys guess.


Thought I'd ask here first anyway, I don't know if anyones up on this sort of stuff.

eggnchips
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:22 pm

Re: Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

Post by eggnchips » Sat Jan 07, 2012 1:20 pm

Hi,
I recently had a similar problem, in that Windows would for no apparent reason change to basic colour upon starting Live. My Live performs terribly in basic colour scheme. I did a system restore to an earlier date and it fixed the problem. Have you tried this?

AK
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 1973
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:01 pm
Location: Worcestershire

Re: Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

Post by AK » Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:19 pm

Since I recently lost everything on my pc due to corruption, I had to reformat/reinstall windows, so this is actually a fresh install but to be honest, this has been there for a while. It was there before the reinstallation ( there were 2 )

God knows, maybe it's a specialist thing. I don't frequent any PC forums though so thought I'd give it a shot here 1st. It is production related after all.

eggnchips
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:22 pm

Re: Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

Post by eggnchips » Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:58 pm

I think the freezing issues are related to Windows being in basic colour scheme. For some reason Live performs better with the Aero feature on. You need to find out why it is going into basic mode.
Here was my post on Abe forum a while back: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=172891

AK
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 1973
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:01 pm
Location: Worcestershire

Re: Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

Post by AK » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:11 pm

what's Aero?

Themis
mnml mdrtr
mnml mdrtr
Posts: 2690
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

Post by Themis » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:34 pm

its the shiny glas look of windows,

i would recommend to disable aero, its impossible that a programm works better or worse with or without aero, it has nothing to do with the programm.
some bad programmed software doesnt support aero correctly, so i would disable it.
often if windows goes back to basic colour scheme its just an indicator that the programm you use is not well written or had an big error occuring, thats the reason it runs badly in basic colour scheme, cause a big error happend, not because of the basic colour scheme

its maybe a plugin at fault or something other.

dyte
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 2:20 pm
Location: Dundee

Re: Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

Post by dyte » Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:24 pm

AK wrote:
It's as though whenever audio is playing, the graphics suffer. If I open task manager while Live is playing and just generally drag the window around, it jerks about a bit and clearly has tails of itself following it as I drag it. Once I stop audio or quit live and do the same thing, it's perfectly smooth.
This would happen if there's heavy resource usage, does it happen on all projects or just on large projects?
AK wrote: 1. When running Live, I get a windows pop up message saying, 'the colour scheme has been changed to windows 7 basic'. It blames Live for this and says it will resume back to normal after the application is closed.
Something wrong there, I use Win7 and Live (v8.2.1) and have an older graphics card that you have and this doesn't happen. Take it didn't happen prior to re-installing Windows etc, do you still have the driver you used before? Also is it the Nvidia driver you're using or one issued by Microsoft which comes with Windows? (On the properties of the device, on the driver tab it'll say who the driver provider is).

eggnchips
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:22 pm

Re: Anybody up on computers? Some issues.

Post by eggnchips » Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:42 pm

Themis wrote:its the shiny glas look of windows,

i would recommend to disable aero, its impossible that a programm works better or worse with or without aero, it has nothing to do with the programm.
some bad programmed software doesnt support aero correctly, so i would disable it.
often if windows goes back to basic colour scheme its just an indicator that the programm you use is not well written or had an big error occuring, thats the reason it runs badly in basic colour scheme, cause a big error happend, not because of the basic colour scheme

its maybe a plugin at fault or something other.
Do some searches pal. Many systems including mine perform worse with Aero off when using Ableton. This is fact. Come round and I'll show you.

Post Reply