Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

- ask away
Post Reply
steevio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 3495
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 12:18 pm
Location: wales UK
Contact:

Re: Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

Post by steevio » Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:30 am

::BLM:: wrote:more knobs to do what?

control multiple things in one go?
just more knobs plain and simple

User avatar
hydrogen
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:41 am

Re: Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

Post by hydrogen » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:08 am

Mbase11 panel for CTRL here! sorry this took so long deccard :oops:

Image
http://ctrlr.org/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=748&p=3968#p3968

Be sure to download the CTRLR program: http://ctrlr.org/page.php?p=downloads

This app has so much potential and can unlock the power of older gear that has tons of menus

Some things to consider
  • You'll probably need to manually set your midi channels/output when you boot it up and you will be all good.
    I didn't make this read the current patch from the actual mbase (I don't know how). BUT the knobs are right there and it takes like 0 minutes to set them vs the 3 minutes going through the mbase menus.
    The only things you can't adjust are the LFO type.
    You will know its working when the lights change on the mbase as you twerk the virtual knobs.
enjoy
------------------------------------------------------
http://soundcloud.com/kirkwoodwest

lem
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 742
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:31 pm

Re: Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

Post by lem » Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:30 pm

hydrogen wrote:Mbase11 panel for CTRL here! sorry this took so long deccard :oops:

Image
http://ctrlr.org/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=748&p=3968#p3968

Be sure to download the CTRLR program: http://ctrlr.org/page.php?p=downloads

This app has so much potential and can unlock the power of older gear that has tons of menus

Some things to consider
  • You'll probably need to manually set your midi channels/output when you boot it up and you will be all good.
    I didn't make this read the current patch from the actual mbase (I don't know how). BUT the knobs are right there and it takes like 0 minutes to set them vs the 3 minutes going through the mbase menus.
    The only things you can't adjust are the LFO type.
    You will know its working when the lights change on the mbase as you twerk the virtual knobs.
enjoy
I have been using Max4live for this sorta thing, and I have been using ableton more because of it. Even tho I prefer the sound of Logic's plugins.
The Airbase patch is what keeps me coming back.

One thing I have noticed about my Jomox is the 'usable' range is quite small to me, I find I always end up with the same kicks.
The 909 I had always sounded good, at any extreme. I guess the range is just much bigger on the Jomox.

User avatar
hydrogen
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:41 am

Re: Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

Post by hydrogen » Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:08 pm

lem wrote: I have been using Max4live for this sorta thing, and I have been using ableton more because of it. Even tho I prefer the sound of Logic's plugins.
The Airbase patch is what keeps me coming back.
You could make an airbase patch for ctrlr really quickly. It took me about 10 minutes to set this up after figuring everything out in the program. Then u would be able to use it in logic.
------------------------------------------------------
http://soundcloud.com/kirkwoodwest

lem
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 742
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:31 pm

Re: Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

Post by lem » Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:01 pm

Cheers Hydro,

I will be sure to look into it, I have several bits of hardware with rubbish interfaces that I could make panels up for..
(this is after spending ages learning Max4live to make up devices for them!)
Its actually a Jazbase 03, but the airbase shares the same motherboard and CC's.

I think I will persue ableton a bit more as its going to be much easier to collaborate with others. And its seemless integration to Live sets which is more the way I am going now.

User avatar
deccard
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 588
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 7:57 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

Post by deccard » Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:59 pm

big thx hydro!! :) will test it later. maybe CTRL its also good for my dp4 effects unit.

i dont like about the mbase11 that the value knob only works in take over mode instead of direct mode for parameters. makes it unnecessary slower to work with. also the value knob only works for the left row of parameters.
techno made me do it

tosh
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:34 pm

Re: Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

Post by tosh » Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:38 pm

nice softare i was always looking for a thing like that !! Thanks !

I will also try to write something for my ensoniq dp4

User avatar
Phase Ghost
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 712
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:19 am
Location: Pittsburgh, US
Contact:

Re: Programming a nice kick with the Mbase11 ?

Post by Phase Ghost » Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:12 pm

Bumping this thread to see who's still using an Mbase. Steevio, are you still using yours? Still liking it? There's a few on ebay for decent prices at the moment and thinking about grabbing one.

Post Reply