'sub' bass tech bass something something

- ask away
edium
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

'sub' bass tech bass something something

Post by edium »

So basically i've been looking into making progressive basslines, i've read an okay amount about bass, frequencies etc.

so to put things into context, look up michael woods - nitro
that bassline - I've talked to my friend about this, and he says its just really heavy sub, which it obviously is, but you can't hear just heavy sub on sub-par speakers. there is something else to the bassline and i was wondering if anyone has an idea on how to make this subby but audible bass sound.

i know to make a full bass sound you can incorporate sine waves(the sub) and squares an octave up saws etc on multi-oscillators but the sound isn't always what you're aiming for.. i am new to producing and would really like to learn.

i've tried EQing sub sounds, ASDRing 808 kicks but all i really get is sort of a semi-punch on bad speakers because it is obviously all sub-bass - and i obviously want it to sound good on any pair of speakers. i don't know i find it really hard to find the exact sound I want in many cases - but then again if it was that easy then we'd all be screwing supermodels and the likes huh
simonb
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Re: 'sub' bass tech bass something something

Post by simonb »

Have you tried a bit of distortion/saturation? It's another way of adding higher harmonics to make the sound more audible in the higher ranges, I find a bit of it helps bring subby bass out on smaller speakers.
XIII NRV
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by XIII NRV »

Filtering a sin is pointless btw.
:::::::::boom tchak boom boom tchak:::::::::::

http://soundcloud.com/richard-hautin
NoAffiliation
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by NoAffiliation »

use more than one oscillator and layer a waveform with more harmonics an octave higher and filter it down.