Gaiser's LIVE ACT ! How ?

- ask away
User avatar
Kilevox
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:48 pm

Gaiser's LIVE ACT ! How ?

Post by Kilevox » Mon Oct 27, 2008 8:29 pm

Hi guys,

last friday I listened to Gaiser at CocoonClub FFM.

AWESOME!

I know that he uses the UC-33 to control his set in Ableton LIVE.

I ask myself for a long time how he iscontrolling his whole set with only this conroller ?

He uses a lot of clips in Ableton but how does he starts every single clips with just one controller ?

That is magic for me!

Do you have any idea ?

Greetz
www.myspace.com/benryser
www.benryser.com

.... minimal is not a hype ....

SHAP
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:39 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by SHAP » Mon Oct 27, 2008 8:48 pm

ammm...no mouse?

User avatar
Kilevox
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:48 pm

Post by Kilevox » Mon Oct 27, 2008 8:57 pm

no mouse !!!!!

really no mouse!

only the controller :!:
www.myspace.com/benryser
www.benryser.com

.... minimal is not a hype ....

User avatar
upekah
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 1693
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 12:59 pm

Post by upekah » Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:05 pm

Kilevox wrote:no mouse !!!!!

really no mouse!

only the controller :!:
saw him tipping some stuff at the computer during his show
maybe he is clicking with the integrated laptop "mouse" but would be kinda slow if you compare his movement on the knobs where he is twisting like an idiot haha
plaster wrote:you can't be a leader if are a follower.

wtf
mnml newbie
mnml newbie
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:51 pm

Post by wtf » Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:40 pm

I bet that he has the set pre-programmed. I have seen people use the clip auto-launch mode where the clip plays for a while and then triggers another clip and on and on. This allows them to just sit there and tweak the effects while the set plays through. I've seen one of his labelmates "play" live set like this but I've no idea how gaiser does it.

Stereojunk
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:53 am

Post by Stereojunk » Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:42 pm

u can easily do a decent live act using only uc-33...im about to start performing and i use only my uc-33.

I have no idea how he has his live setup...y split each track into single loops(bass.kick.percs...etc..) and i arrange everything into scenes in live, add send fx and trigger clips with the buttons from the uc.

maybe this hlep u get an idea.

colinstark
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:58 pm

Post by colinstark » Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:09 pm

thought he was djin over there - just stood in front of rich the whole time tbh :lol:

User avatar
AVX23
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:36 am
Location: Under Your Bed
Contact:

Post by AVX23 » Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:44 pm

It's possible to setup the controller to work as a loop select tool with live - it kinda works as an xy, you would say use one knob to scroll vertically, one to scroll horizonally, and one button to trigger clips - one to stop them, that way - in theory you'd only need two knobs and two buttons to control that aspect of a set.

I personally prefer to use the mouse to do that but I've seen others use it in the way I describe.

Post Reply