Final Scratch/Serato Scratch...Compatible with Vista?????

- ask away
iainlad
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland

Final Scratch/Serato Scratch...Compatible with Vista?????

Post by iainlad » Mon Dec 10, 2007 3:24 pm

I recently (and stupidly) bought a laptop PC with Vista as the OS. Can anyone tell me if Serato, Final Scratch or any other programs of this nature are compatible with Vista?? Torq maybe??

4am
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 6:05 pm
Location: zürich
Contact:

Post by 4am » Mon Dec 10, 2007 3:43 pm

visit the software's homepage and read under "requirements", the information is there

meteoro_808
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 10:08 pm

Post by meteoro_808 » Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:09 pm

It is possible to use serato scratch in a vista pc and there is a vista driver provided by serato. However, there is a problem with it and everytime you disconnect the interface after using serato you get 'the blue screen of death' and have to reboot.

I used it in a couple of gigs and it worked fine but I somehow doubt how reliable/stable it is.

I managed to get the XP drivers for my laptop and installed XP on it, Maybe you should do the same?

User avatar
58525
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 12:41 am
Location: bloomington.mn

Post by 58525 » Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:57 am

Torq is Vista compitable. I use a Powerbook, so I had never tried it. I just installed it though and Torq and the Connectiv interface installed just fine. My tables aren't near my PC, so I can't actually use vinyl controll to test it.

Not that this is a recommendation of Torq. :roll:

User avatar
robert lowell
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:04 am
Location: brisbane, australia
Contact:

Post by robert lowell » Tue Dec 11, 2007 4:04 am

i have serato installed on a mac with bootcamp running vista. i don't normally use vista but i've tested it before and seemed to work fine. vista sucks bad. xp is so much more stable., get xp and switch over before you pile to many apps on there.

sorgenkind
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 1:41 pm
Location: zh - switzerland
Contact:

Post by sorgenkind » Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:48 am

vista is not compatible with computers anyway

User avatar
hydrogen
mnml maxi
mnml maxi
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:41 am

Post by hydrogen » Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:21 pm

sorgenkind wrote:vista is not compatible with computers anyway
+1
------------------------------------------------------
http://soundcloud.com/kirkwoodwest

Macaque
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:13 pm

Post by Macaque » Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:45 pm

sorgenkind wrote:vista is not compatible with computers anyway
Vista won't run well on a older/slower machine with less RAM. If you have 1GB of RAM or more then Vista works fine. Yes, it takes more resources to run Vista, but today's computers are powerful enough to cope :wink:

There are no issues with the stability of Vista. It is at least as stable as XP. I've been using Traktor Scratch with Vista and it runs very well. Serato Scratch doesn't run so well but this may be fixed in the future.

Post Reply