Old doubts about compression, reverb and digital mastering.

- ask away
kronik
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Old doubts about compression, reverb and digital mastering.

Post by kronik »

I have a list of doubts that I guess the pros could help me on that.

1 - Using different reverbs on the bus ?? (sending tracks individually)
2 - Compression on the bus??? is that alright?
3 - How to analyze the spectrum analyzer in an effective way? So I can separate elements frequencies from colliding each other
4 - About the digital mastering: What do you use on the master channel, and in what sequence (the chain)? Any rules?
5 - I want my mix to get tight, to make the tracks to glue together. (so everybody does, duh!)Any tips?
And the final one
6 - anyone using Logic's Match EQ? Does it work?

Any feedback is highly appreciated
New Guy
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by New Guy »

since im not a pro i don't really think i can help you.
:lol:

but, i use reverb on individual tracks and then send them to a bus.
i compress buses (most of the time, but not always)

mastering, if mix is good i just use highpass filter at 35Hz and a lowpass Filter at 18 Khz. after that limiting and thats it.

as for glue, this glue does wonders!
kronik
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Post by kronik »

the sarcasm is as good as the tips.
tks mate
Martin Decara
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Re: Old doubts about compression, reverb and digital masteri

Post by Martin Decara »

kronik wrote:I have a list of doubts that I guess the pros could help me on that.

6 - anyone using Logic's Match EQ? Does it work?
It works, and it is lots of fun. try it!
steevio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by steevio »

hi mate, not sure what a pro is, but i can give you advice from my experiences.
i'm not sure i understand all your questions, but.........

2 compression on the buss....

i tend to avoid compression, but when i use it, i always use it on the buss.