What's happened here?

- open
Crazygoat
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

What's happened here?

Post by Crazygoat »

I don't know where to start with this.

In 2007 at some point I discovered techno. I started exploring it, and it was a matter of time before I bumped into some minimal stuff.

I kept on exploring and exploring, until minimal became my passion. Artists, labels, www.discogs.com, I wanted to know everything. I found myself spending more and more money on wavs and mp3s, CDs, parties and t-shirts from niche labels. I started playing with VirtualDJ, and LOVED THIS sh!t. It was going to be my life, I thought.

Hours and hours and hours were spent listening to electronic music

I got Xone:2D and Traktor, started mixing more seriously, that was my hobby. I would actually make 2-hour long mixes and record them, just for the fck of it.

Minimal techno parties were like heaven to me, and never took drugs either. I could just dance for hours straight. I cannot put into words my addiction to electronic music. I would send tracks to friends and tell them: CHECK THIS sh!t OUT, IT'S AWESOME.

Every day I thought about techno, and listened to it.

Until at some point, last year, I just started feeling empty about it. I practically stopped buying music. I haven't made a proper mix in months. I would browse beatport and feel like I'm hearing the SAME sh!t ALL OVER.

Gaiser started to bore me, and every mthrfckr out there sounded like a copy of a copy of a copy of himself. Marco Carola being the king of that, and the epitome of this being his piece of sh!t release (if you can call it that) "Play it Loud!". It's like a troll release for April's fool.

Is it just me, or are artists not making an effort anymore? My enthusiasm about the scene stagnated and now dropped. Everyone seems to be taking the piss, and I cannot believe the amount of ideas being done, and re-done, and re-done.