Copywriting your music

- ask away
Toloache
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

Copywriting your music

Post by Toloache »

I was just wondering... How do you guys copyright your music before sending it out to the world?

In theory i would have to register to the copyright agency that there is in my country, this cost about 200 euro annual and a fee per track... Given that im not at the level that i put out a track every month, but more like a track per year, i would have to pay this subscription fee almost per track, which make my cost of copyrighting almost 250 euro per track, and i domt know if it even will be released.. Plus im a student, with the international crisis i struggle finding work, so 250 euro are a bit too much to spend for the hope of being labelled.

Im not interested in gettig payed everytime my tracks are played. Honestly i dont think i make the type of music that will be aired on radio, and usually when i was a pr, often i saw dj's dont write down the tracks they play, or they write that they play their track or friends track to make them earn the money. So i wont bother. Earning from track playing will be minimum unless a track would be featured in some spot like David Guetta lol.

All i want is a decent copyright services that secure my music. What is the way to go?
steevio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: Copywriting your music

Post by steevio »

i've never copywrited a tune in my entire life.

whats the point? this is the underground.
optX
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by optX »

toloache... just give your tracks a creative commons license.

I am running a little netlabel and doing it this way : our released tracks are labeled as Creative Commons (by-nc-nd) which means that everybody is allowed to download the tracks, to give them away and to perform them for free and legal. Nobody is allowed to do remixes or take parts of them for their own music and nobody is allowed to use the tracks for commercial purposes.