going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton noob?

all things.
slavink
mnml newbie
mnml newbie

going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton noob?

Post by slavink »

Hey y'all,

I've been a Logic Pro user since 5 years and a ProTools user before that,
I'd like to dive into Ableton now, but the workflow is pretty different, can't really get my head around it.

The way I work in Logic is pretty much audio-based, just placing bits of audio on the timeline.
All the tonal aspects of a track I do with soft synths so that's pretty much the same in the same in all DAWs i guess.
But I rarely use soft synths or samplers for drums, just audio.
I must say I don't really understand the concept of the clip launcher.

Does anyone has some tips or good tutorials to share?

Allright thanks
steevio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: going from logic to ableton > any tips for an ableton no

Post by steevio »

dont do it :)

but if you must, the onboard tutorials are ok
Mono-xID
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by Mono-xID »

steevio wrote:dont do it :)
why not?
Hades
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Post by Hades »

slavink wrote:Hey y'all,

I've been a Logic Pro user since 5 years and a ProTools user before that,
I'd like to dive into Ableton now, but the workflow is pretty different, can't really get my head around it.

The way I work in Logic is pretty much audio-based, just placing bits of audio on the timeline.
All the tonal aspects of a track I do with soft synths so that's pretty much the same in the same in all DAWs i guess.
But I rarely use soft synths or samplers for drums, just audio.
I must say I don't really understand the concept of the clip launcher.

Does anyone has some tips or good tutorials to share?

Allright thanks
the tracks you see horizontally in arrangement view are the same tracks you see vertically in session view
(obviously).