The 4 minute curse!

- ask away
Harry
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

The 4 minute curse!

Post by Harry »

I have been producing for about 3 years now, going through a variety of sounds and styles, all on Apples Logic software.

In the past year or so I have begun to make music I'm actually happy with and feel like I know what im doing a bit, but one problem i keep coming across is that i tend to get stuck after 4 minutes.

I'm making music around 122 - 128 bpm, so 4 minutes is generally enough for an intro and first section, then break and into the main groove. But after building up to this main groove i never know where to go, how to keep my track interesting and flowing. Because of this i tend to just sit and work on the sounds i have in the first 4 minutes for way too long, and inevitably end up hating what i've made.

Has anyone got any advice working past this? Maybe just tips and tricks that you guys do to keep things fresh and not get too stuck on a beat?

Thanks in advance, peace!
oblioblioblio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Re: The 4 minute curse!

Post by oblioblioblio »

One thing that I personally believe, is that no music is perfect. As a musician you always strive for perfection, but perhaps you should celebrate what you're good at rather than finding fault in what makes you different from everybody else.

It's no reason to not grow and change, but maybe making 4 minute tracks is what you're good at? As for me, I'm good at making 40 minute tracks which only subtly evolve at a rate of about 1 every 6 months. Of course I feel terribly guilty about being so talentless that I can't make fast changes, or make ordinary techno music. But every once in a while I think, fck it, this is my niche, I should just do what comes naturally.
steevio
mnml maxi
mnml maxi

Post by steevio »

hi harry,
dont worry its a common problem.

i would say try not to arrange the track as an intro / first section / main groove etc..