Tax Question

- open
jackbrazzo
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Tax Question

Post by jackbrazzo »

Guys

I have recently sorted out my tax for this year. Basically next year I aim to negate more tax but buying more gear to claim back as a capital expenditure (basically i dont really want to be paying tax if I dont have too!)

Quite legitimately I can do this. DJing is a side project for me as I work in IT in the city. Does anyone know if there is an upper limit or ceiling on what you can claim back? For arguments sake lets say I earning 5K GBP and i bought an Apple Mac Laptop, Oto Biscuit, 2 analogue synths and it all came at over 5K would i be liable for no tax. I see this venture purely for fun and an opportunity to buy music gear. Other than playing class 2 NI would that be my only financial liability?

Cheers
Dal-Tech
mnml mmbr
mnml mmbr

Re: Tax Question

Post by Dal-Tech »

I know in the States it has to be for a legit business. You can't just can't go on a spending spree making 0 money from it. If you're DJing on the side and getting payed you should be okay. Check with a tax advisor, Good luck.
Dal-Tech wrote: Everyone else is trying to be cool, not me.
hey everybody : I'm a douche !
John Clees
mnml admn
mnml admn

Post by John Clees »

Dal-Tech wrote:I know in the States it has to be for a legit business.
every business has to start somewhere..

I've personally done this, and have tripled by return claiming things.. * also it helps by having a regular day job and income as well...

fact is most business fail within the first 3 years, and therefore you can show a loss for about 3 years before anything is every really raised or flagged. here in the states its highly encouraged to open your own business.. I've just learned a lot doing what I did the past few years... ended up filing chp 7, and now have over 700 scores two years later..